Jen’s Staying in Tennessee!

Hey VISTA Land!
VISTA life is coming to a close and I cannot believe that I literally only have a month and a half of service left. It seems like it was just a few months ago that I was writing about moving here and some of the challenges I was facing. So much has changed since I moved to Tennessee 9.5 months ago, and I am so happy with where I am now. I am so happy, that I have decided to stay in Tennessee and serve the community that has helped shape who I am today. When I first moved to Tennessee, I was extremely unhappy with a lot of different aspects of my life and moving to the south was definitely a challenge. But because I have spent time getting to know this community and have spent time getting to know the people within it, I have been able to remove my bias and fall in love with the city. I believe that I have the opportunity to help empower people living on the margins here in Knoxville and really make an impact specifically within the LGBTQ Community. I am really excited to see what the next few weeks of VISTA have in store for me and I am truly excited to start a new chapter of my life. Hopefully the next time I talk to you VISTA Land, I will have a new job and some awesome volunteer prospects! Stay Tuned!
Leave a Reply

