“Sustainability” by Kristen

Before I joined AmeriCorps VISTA in 2014, I didn’t think much about sustainability. I have a habit of concentrating on the past and present. It has been hard for me to look far in the future because I’m always uncertain of where I’ll be or what I’ll be doing. Thanks to AmeriCorps and the classes I have been taking for my master’s program, my mindset has changed a bit around that.

It’s important for us to think about the future. It’s important for us to be mindful of how the things we do today will affect us tomorrow or years down the road. This is true in any aspect of life–physically, emotionally, spiritually, environmentally, professionally… the list goes on. Ryan wrote his blog about how we should understand why something should last or if something should even sustain at all. If something shouldn’t, we still must be mindful of how that something ends. Let it be peaceful and allow closure to occur. Don’t let things simply fall apart because they should end. On the other hand, if you decide something should sustain, it’s not always going to be easy. Work hard to keep it alive and well. Don’t let it slip away.

Leave a Reply

