“Resolutions Are For The Birds” by Jen

NewYearsResolutions.jpegI don’t really believe in the whole resolution thing when it comes to the New Year. I used to, when I was a little younger, tried to hold true to my “resolutions.” They used to be the traditional goals like work out more, eat healthier, drink less, blah blah blah. I would hold true to the “resolutions” until the middle of about February and then I would just stop. My gym sneakers would go to the back of my closet and I would eat ALL of the pizza. Then I would feel horrible about myself at the end of February and try to do it all over again.

I tried for years to figure out why my “resolutions” wouldn’t work. Maybe if I change them up a little, ask people for some accountability, SOMETHING, my goals would work. I found that no matter what I did, I would never achieve them until 2014 I stopped. I did a lot of soul searching at the beginning of 2015, and figured out that every year I made goals just to make goals. I said I would do things, just because I thought I had to. I felt like there was some camera following me around making sure that I made a goal to achieve more every year.  I found that when I just sat down and looked at what I truly wanted, for me, that it was easier to make achievable goals for myself.

In the beginning of 2015, I changed my entire diet and still in this New Year I am holding strong. I started working out every day little by little, until I developed a work out plan that actually kept me at the gym and excited to be there every day! I also started just taking time to read and write more just for myself. And since 2015, I feel as if my life has completely changed.

I believe that 2016 is going to be my year. I want to take even more time this year to do things for ME; go to more concerts, taste more coffee, learn to cook more yummy recipes, find a job after VISTA where I truly fit in, dance more, enjoy small interactions and meetings with friends,  and enjoy the moments I am awarded from God every day. I know that although rough times will come and things might not go my way, but I will overcome it.

So to all of you who feel pressured to have “resolutions,” just sit down and actually think about what is achievable and just love yourself for where you are. That is the first step to truly achieving change in your life.

 

Posted in Jen

Leave a Reply

