“Presence” by Kristen

I didn’t make any resolutions for 2016 because, let’s be real, I never stay true to resolutions. However, there are a lot of lessons I have learned throughout the past year than can help make 2016 more meaningful. One of the most important lessons is the importance of “being present.”

Too often people are stuck behind a screen–a screen of a phone, TV, iPad, computer… we are consumed. How many special moments have I missed because I was playing Candy Crush or making sure I’m not missing out on the latest Instagram post? I need to change some things–adjust my priorities.

Now, just to be clear, I’m not staying that I’m going to stay off social media or stop watching Gilmore Girls (because how could I ever stop watching Gilmore Girls?). Instead, I am vowing to (attempt to) be “here” in the present moment. If I’m with my family, I want to be focusing on my family. If my cat has graced me with his presence, then I will pet him. Well, unless he has graced me with his presence at 3:00 in the morning. If I’m watching Gilmore Girls, I will only worry about Rory and Lorelai.

This, of course, isn’t always an easy task. For example, I hate cold weather. Ryan says people who don’t like cold weather don’t like it because they don’t know how to dress for cold weather. However, I feel like I could be wearing the warmest clothes in 10 degree weather and still hate it. What I’m trying to say is that it will be hard for me to enjoy the present moment if I’m outside in the cold. I’ll try, though!

I encourage you to be present in your life. Be present in both the joyful and painful times because every moment is precious (even if it’s a cold moment). Dedicate your time to those who are around you right in this moment. Time passes quickly. Don’t let it go to waste.

“Always say ‘yes’ to the present moment. What could be more futile, more insane, than to create inner resistance to what already is? What could be more insane than to oppose life itself, which is now and always now? Surrender to what is. Say ‘yes’ to life–and see how life suddenly starts working for you rather than against you.”    –Eckhart Tolle

livenow.jpg

Leave a Reply

